2014 Back to the Classics Challenge

by romanoir

Each year I write on scraps of paper about the novels, plays and poetry I read and stick them in minimalist scrapbooks. One could say I am eccentric when it comes to habits of preservation. However I think it’s high time I joined an online community and had all of my reviews and thoughts in one place that I could look back on and remember.  What better way to start online communicating about texts than a challenge.

I am a fervent reader of the classics and have been since I was quite young. There is something to be said about soaking up the words and ideologies of texts that have stood the test of time. So the 2014 Back to the Classics Challenge is perfect for me.

Six Required Categories:
1.  20th Century Classic: The Fountainhead – Ann Rand (1948)
2.  19th Century Classic: Tess of the d’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy (1891)
3.  A Classic By A Woman Writer: Daniel Deronda – George Eliot (1876)
4.  A Classic In Translation – Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky (1866)
5.  A Wartime Classic: Catch 22 – Joseph Heller (1961)
6.  A Classic by an Author Who is New to You: The Art of War – Sun Tzu (-512)

Five Optional Categories:
1.  An American Classic:  The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck (1939)
2.  A Classic Mystery/Suspense Thriller – The Scarlet Pimpernel – Emmuska Orczy (1905)
3.  A Classic Historical Fiction Book – A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens (1854)
4.  A Classic That Has Been Adapted into a T.V. or Movie Series – Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray (1847)
5.  Extra Fun Category – Write a Review of #4

I plan to join several challenges for 2014 but this is the first one that stuck out to me and is the perfect choice for my first post on this blog.

 

