Russian Literature Challenge 2014

by romanoir

Before I ever read a Russian Classic novel I was of the opinion that they were overwrought and ostentatious mountains that I would not (and could not) conquer. I have never been more wrong.

I was in high school when I read my first Russian Classic. I had bought One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich written by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn a year before I decided to read it because it was small and reading it would be a tiny victory before I decided to conquer mammoth novels like Anna Karenina and Crime and Punishment. I read it in one evening. It was, and remains, one of the best novels I have ever read in my life. One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich was the best introduction to Russian Literature I could have had. A few months later I read Anna Karenina, fell head over heels with 19th century Russian Literature and never looked back.

Now, having read several classic Russian novels, I have the ideal platform to conquer a Russian Literature challenge. To try and fill the gaps in my knowledge of Russian Lit and to expand my library of Russian Classics as much as I possibly can. As soon as I found O’s challenge I knew it would be something I could not pass up.

Since I will be signing up for several challenges I don’t think I’ll have time to read 12+ books so I will aim for Level Three – 8 books.

Titles:
Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Poor Folk and the Gambler – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Eugene Onegin – Alexander Pushkin
Pnin – Vladimir Nabokov
Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov
We – Yevgeny Zamyatin
Fathers and Sons – Ivan Turgenev
War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy (if I’m feeling particularly daring)

Possible Standby:
Any of Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn’s work since I’ve only read one of his novels and have always wanted to read more

