May Update

by romanoir

Image

This year has gone by incredibly fast hasn’t it? I can’t believe it’s almost half way through the year. It’s insane. Since I live in the southern hemisphere May is the last month of Autumn before the cold winter sets in. Personally I detest Winter and I’m lucky to live in a country that is relatively warm compared to Europe and North America. However there are still cold days (such as today) where I wish nothing more than to hide under the covers with a good book and a big cup of coffee.

For the past month I have been in quite a book slump. I haven’t even finished one book, which is extremely rare for me, especially since I have had a bit of free time on my hands. At the end of March I read two books I didn’t enjoy at all (Northanger Abbey, Vathek) and one book I didn’t finish (the Hunchback of Notre Dame) which put me off picking up another book. Then life intervened and I kept pushing reading to the side. Soon enough it was the end of April and I hadn’t read a thing. I’ve been spending the last few nights reading old favourite poems and short stories which have finally brought me out of my reading slump. I hadn’t realised how much I had missed reading until I was knee deep in brilliant poetry and prose.

For May, I don’t have many clear cut reading goals as I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself but I have a few titles picked out that I’m excited to stick my teeth into. Last week I bought a collection of Hans Christian Anderson’s Fairy Tales which I want to read first up. The collection is beautifully illustrated which always enhances my reading of fairy tales (I have an illustrated collection of the Brothers Grimm fairy tales as well). I also have Shakespeare’s Henry IV (and possibly another Shakespeare) to read this month as I am woefully behind on my Shakespeare Project. I also want to read another Russian novel this month, maybe Crime and Punishment by Dostoevsky. I recently found a copy of the Three Comedies by Ben Johnson and I want to read at least one of them this month. Other than that I’m thinking about reading a Dickens (why? Because it’s Dickens), perhaps Great Expectations or Oliver Twist.  If I have time after the aforementioned titles I think I’ll read another Austen since one of my year long goals is to re-read all of her novels. So far I’ve read Persuasion, Pride and Prejudice and Northanger Abbey and I think I want to read Emma next. I also need to write reviews which I’ve been so slack on.  

May should be a quiet month so hopefully I can reach all my book/review goals and then some! My birthday is in late May so that’s exciting. I can’t believe it’s here already. I’ve been hinting to my family about these beautiful leather bound copies of Wuthering Heights and Persuasion so if all goes to plan I should have them in my hands in no less than twenty days. A girl can dream. 

For now I’m going to make a big cup of coffee and settle in bed with Hans Christian Anderson’s Fairy Tales and hopefully read at least five of them before I turn in. Some are long and some are short so it shouldn’t be too hard to read five. I plan to do mini posts about ten of them at once so hopefully I’ll be writing that up over the next few days. 

What are your reading plans for May? 

