Classics Club Spin #6

by romanoir

Image   The Classics Club has announced the sixth Classics Club Spin and it really couldn’t have come at a better time. I’ve made good progress on my list (so far this year I’ve read fourteen classic novels which is almost on track to where I wanted to be) but I’m not exactly sure which novel to read next. Picking the next novel is always the hardest part since my decision making skills leave a lot to be desired. I just missed out on joining the previous spin and I am absolutely thrilled another is so soon. My list is a mixture of books I am nervous about starting and books I can’t wait to read. I tried to challenge myself so a lot of these are rather long. So without further ado here is my list:

1. Le Morte D’Arthur – Thomas Malory
2. Emma – Jane Austen
3. The Iliad – Homer
4. Orlando Furioso – Lucovico Ariosto
5. Three Comedies – Ben Johnson
6. Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
7. Don Quixote – Miguel Cervantes
8. Essential Tales and Poems – Edgar Allan Poe
9. Richard III – William Shakespeare
10. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
11. The Complete Poems – Samuel Taylor Coleridge
12. Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
13. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
14. Silas Marner – George Eliot
15. The Aeneid – Virgil
16. The House of Mirth – Edith Wharton
17. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall – Anne Bronte
18. Paradise Lost – John Milton
19. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
20. Metamorphoses – Ovid

 

THE FIVE I’M DREADING (due to the length not because I’m dreading the story itself):
Don Quixote, Orlando Furioso, Vanity Fair, Metamorphoses, Le Morte D’Arthur

THE FIVE I CAN’T WAIT TO READ:
Crime and Punishment, Great Expectations, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, The Aeneid, Richard III

I’m actually looking forward to all of them, even the ones I’m also dreading because of the length. I’ll be happy with any of them.

 

UPDATE: Number 1 was selected so I have the pleasure (and probably pain) of reading Le Morte D’Arthur which comes to 1049 pages! It’s going to be a task to finish it in a month and a half but if I time manage and don’t leave it until the end of June I should be okay. I’m nervous but I absolutely love Arthurian Legends so hopefully it’ll be an entertaining read. 

