Winter

by romanoir

Image

Looking at my reading habits over the past few years I seem to get most of my reading done during the coldest months in the year. Which really does not surprise me at all. I love reading at night under a labyrinth of blankets with a cup of coffee, tea or even hot chocolate. Living in a hot climate doesn’t give me many opportunities to enjoy reading the way I love to do it so when winter comes around I’m almost never seen without a book in hand. I’ve been reading a lot over the past two weeks and I’ve even managed to write two reviews (!) and with Winter here I want to keep that great progress going. Usually when I write lists about which books to read in a month or in a season I end up never following it but this time I’m going to write a very rough list and not put pressure on myself to read them in the order I originally put them in. So without further ado the following list of books are the titles I am planning to read or at least read some of over the next three months:

  • Hans Christian Anderson’s Fairy Tales – I’m almost a quarter of the way through this collection but I’ve been making good progress and I’m aiming to finish by the end of this month. I have loved each story so far and I’m planning to write a review of the first ten tales which I should finish up tomorrow. 
  • Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe – I’m currently reading this book at the moment although I haven’t gotten through much of it. The language is quite laborious at first but I love adventure stories and I’m told Robinson Crusoe is an excellent book so I’ll push through. I’m oping to finish it over the next couple of days. I’m also aiming to read Moll Flanders which is another of Defoe’s novels. I knew when I came across it in a book store last year I would love it and I’m really looking forward to starting it.
  • Le Morte D’Arthur by Thomas Mallory – I’ll be starting this as soon as I finish Robinson Crusoe. It’s just over a thousand words and it will be this months long project as it’s the title that I’m reading for the Classics Club Spin and the deadline to finish is early July. It was one of the novels on my Classics Club list I was most looking forward to reading as the Arthurian Myth has always been a passion of mine.
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens –  I have no idea why I have put this book off for so long but it’s high time I read it. I haven’t had the best luck with Dickens in the past but I’ve been reading a lot of Victorian Lit lately and hopefully that will provide a fresh start for my very complicated relationship with Dickens. If I have time I’ll also read A Tale of Two Cities.
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky – I’ve read two novels by Dostoyevsky this year and I’m eager to read another before the year is done. Russian Literature is a personal favourite of mine and I’ve loved every Russian novel I’ve ever read so I hope this will be no different.
  • The Divine Comedy by Dante – I’ve already read the first part of the Divine Comedy, Inferno, and I loved it so I look forward to reading the other two parts, Purgatory and Paradise
  • Emma by Jane Austen – As I’ve mentioned in other posts I wanted to re-read all of Austen’s novels this year and Emma is next on my list. It’s my second favourite Austen, after Persuasion, and Emma is definitely my favourite of Austen’s heroines. Since I read Emma the first time I’ve seen almost all of the film and television adaptions and I’m looking forward to going back to the source. 
  • Fall of the Roman Republic by Plutarch – I’ve had this on my to-read list for a long time and I’ve read bits and pieces but I want to dedicate a chuck of time to reading it from start to finish. It deals with one of my favourite time periods in history and dedicates whole parts of the book to some of the most interesting figures in all of history.
  • Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkein – I think it’s important to break up all of my classics reading with something a tad more fantastical and since I read the three part novel so long ago I want to revisit Middle Earth and fall in love with it all over again. 

As I said this is a rough list and quite short at the moment so I’ll keep adding and changing as the next three months go on but I’m happy with my Classics Club progress and can’t wait for the cold weather to start so I can bury myself in a wall of books.

