More Than Words

by romanoir

This year has probably been one of the most tumultuous of my life thus far. I’ve spoken about this before so I won’t venture into that sad territory again. Probably due to the tumultuous nature of the past six months, I haven’t been reading at the pace that I usually do. Actually, I haven’t really been reading at all, which is sad. Usually, whenever I have gone through difficult periods in my life, books have been my only solace and my escape, but for some reason that’s not the case this time. I’ve just lost complete interest in doing things I used to enjoy doing. Or at least I did for a few months.

Over the last three weeks I’ve been steadily reading the Harry Potter series. I’ve just started the fifth book in the series, Order of the Phoenix.  Each time I’ve gone through difficult periods of my life I’ve read this series and it’s pulled me back. Saved me, one might say. That might sound cliché, or cheesy, but it’s true. Now, in my biggest reading rut of my life, it’s pulled me back again. Looking around my room, I can see a few books I have a sudden urge to read, or read again. I haven’t had this feeling for a while and feeling that again is such a relief. I can’t even put into words what a relief that is. I haven’t really felt like myself for a while and that, in part, is because I haven’t been reading.

Now on to the point of this post: my reading plans for the next few months. I simply cannot believe it’s almost October! Where has the year gone?

I don’t want to make any concrete plans for reading, because it never works out. Instead, I’ll just talk about the books I want to read and not put pressure on myself to read them. First up, I want to finish the Harry Potter series by the end of the first week of October. This time around I’ve been able to take certain things from the books that I never really did before. Maybe this is because of my current situation in life, maybe it’s because of my age or maybe it’s something else. I’m not completely sure. I’ve also been reading Batman graphic novels lately, in chronological order. I’ve never really been a comic book reader before so it’s a new and interesting experience. They’re very easy to get through and I usually read one before I go to sleep.

I’ve given up on the challenges I signed up for this year, I just don’t think I should pressure myself after not really reading anything challenging for a few months now. I’d like to read one more Russian novel this year, possibly Anna Karenina, which is one of my favourites. I think I’ll spend most of the rest of the year reading old favourites, to ease me back into reading. I’d love to read Possession by A.S Byatt again, I haven’t read it for a couple of years now. I’m kind of afraid I won’t like it as much as my first time reading it. I’ve already read Rubicon by Tom Holland this year but I think I’d like to read it again since I kind of raced through it and have forgotten half of it already. I’m sure I’ll think of others as the end of the year draws near.

As far as new books are concerned I would like to try Robinson Crusoe again. I tried to read it a few months ago but it was in the middle of my reading rut and didn’t really help matters. I’ve had the urge to try again for a couple of weeks now. I’ve read the Inferno by Dante this year but I bought this really beautiful edition of the Divine Comedy in it’s entirety so I might try reading that over the course of a month or so, maybe in November. I might try to read a couple of collected works as well. I have this really beautiful edition of Edgar Allan Poe’s short stories and poetry so I might try and read some of those. I have a book called French Decadent Tales that looks interesting so I might try reading a few of those short stories. I bought a modern book called One Man’s Bible by Gao Xingjian which looks interesting so I may read that. I also have a copy of Wolf Hall  and as Tudor History is one of my favourite periods, I’ll have to try and read that too. As I said, there are no concrete plans I’m just going to let my reading flow.

I will try and update my blog as often as I can but I don’t want to force myself to write reviews if I’m not feeling it. That never works out well. Even though I haven’t been posting here I have been checking all of your blogs and leaving comments when I can so I’ll keep doing that.

For now though, I’m off to read Order of the Phoenix (all 800+ pages of it).

