Spring

by romanoir

springbooks

Ah, spring. What a wonderful time of the year. Flora is appearing again after a long Winter, as are the many species of fauna. The sky is permanently blue, the scents are enough to plaster a perpetual smile across your face. Spring represents new: new beginnings and a fresh perspective (at least for me). It’s not a coincidence that in the past I’ve always written/read more in the spring and summer months: I love reading outside in the sun. I loathe winter and it just makes me grumpy. It’s noted that I’ve had a hard time lately getting into books let alone finishing them but so far this week I’ve read The Women of Trachis by Sophocles, Mumu by Ivan Tugenev, and I finally finished Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (all reviews will be coming this week) and it’s only Wednesday. I finally feel passionate about reading again and writing reviews. I am so relieved, it was pretty dark there for a while.

Usually I outline what I want to read each season as it gives me something to work towards. For the past year I haven’t done this as I just kept not reaching my goals and it bummed me out. I finally feel like I have the motivation to list books I want to read and actually finish them so without further ago these are a few books/goals I want to achieve over the next two and a half months:

  • Turgenev Project: Late last year I decided I would make my way through Turgenev’s body of work, which is no easy task let me assure you. So far I’ve read Fathers and Sons, On the Eve (both before I embarked on this project: I want to reread them eventually), Mumu, Song of Love Triumphant and I’m currently reading Asya. This spring I want to read Spring Torrents (how appropriate), First Love, Diary of a Superfluous Man and King Lear of the Steppes which brings me to my second goal:
  • King Lear by William Shakespeare. I haven’t read King Lear for many years and since Turgenev’s King Lear of the Steppes is inspired by Shakespeare’s King Lear I want to read them in conjunction to each other. Possibly read another Shakespeare if I can fit it in, maybe As You Like It or another comedy.
  • Complete Poems by Samuel Taylor Coleridge: I know this will be something that will take a lot of motivation for me to get through but I’ve had this collection of Coleridge poems for years and he is one of my favourite poets (if not my favourite) of the Romantic Era. I want to write about many poems as possible but there are over 300 of them in the collection so obviously I won’t be able to write about them all.
  • Ancient Greek Challenge: I’m hosting this event and I haven’t read nearly as much as I would like. I’d like to finish Sophocles Plays (I only have three left: Philocetes, Electra and Ajax) so that’s an achievable goal for this Spring.
  • JANE EYRE: I have never actually finished this novel. Sometimes I’ve read the start, the middle or a few pages here and there from the end but I’ve never made it through the entire book. I’m not fond of Charlotte Bronte and the Professor soured me even more towards her but I KNOW I’ll love this book if I read it and I just need to read it.
  • As I mentioned above I FINALLY finished Sir Gawain and the Green Knight so this frees me up a bit for a step reading/step reviewing project. I’m still not sure what I’m going to choose: perhaps One Thousand And One Nights/Arabian Nights/whatever you choose to call it, The Divine Comedy (I’ve read Inferno before) or the Decameron. That’s TBD.

So those are my plans. It’s a lovely day and I have some free time so hopefully I’ll (start) finish Asya today and this afternoon I’m going to a second hand bookstore to see if I can find some rarer books that they dont stock in Dymocks or online stores. I know they have a massive collection of Ancient Greek and Russian Literature so I’ll probably spend five hours in there. Couldn’t imagine a better way to spend an afternoon.

x

 

 

